Live Healthy. Live Natural.

Flaxseed Oil Compared to Other Oils

By: Evita Basilio

Naturally, oils contain saturated and unsaturated fats. Unsaturated fats are divided into monounsaturated (one double bond in the fatty acid chain) and polyunsaturated (more than one double bond). Polyunsaturated fats are essential for our body as we cannot naturally produce them. What’s the difference between all these types of fat?

SATURATED FAT:  Saturated fat raises the bad LDL cholesterol in your blood and has been linked to increased risk of coronary heart disease.

MONOUNSATURATED FAT: Oleic fatty acid (Omega-9) monounsaturated fat is produced naturally in our body so is called non-essential. It may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease by lowering bad LDL cholesterol in the blood and helping control blood glucose.

POLYUNSATURATED FAT: Omega-3 and Omega-6:

  • ALPHA-LINOLENIC ACID (Omega-3): Omega-3 is an essential fatty acid which cannot be naturally produced by the body and must be obtained through our diets. Regular intake of Omega-3 has shown to protect against hypertension, inflammation, heart disease, immune disorders, arthritis, diabetes and constipation.
  • LINOLEIC ACID (Omega-6): Omega-6 fatty acids must also be consumed through a balanced diet, and are important for the brain, and essential for the growth and development of infants.

Here are a few charts to compare the amounts of each type of fat in different oils. The ratio you’re looking for is low saturated fat and high polyunsaturated fat, especially Omega-3s. The oils are normalized to 100 with recognition of water as part of each fat.

Common Cooking Oils

fat chartFruit Oils
fruit oilsNut Oils

nut oilsOther Oils

other oilsAnimal Fats

animal fats



Back to top